Llay Miners Welfare FC

Llay Welfare Football Club was founded in 1930-31 and entered the Wrexham and District League in which we runners-up in the 1936-37 season. Following the second world war the team joined the Welsh National Leaguie (Wrexham Area) and we won our only league title to date in season 1962/63, a superb achievement in an extremely strong league. During that championship triumph the welfare played 30, won 25, drew 3 and lost just twice , scoring 97 goals and conceding just 22. Saying that we still only won the league by just 3 points from Welshpool!

Since that title win we have had numerous promotions and relegations but the elusive goal of winning the top division has remained just that. We enjoyed some great times in the 70’s when we won the NEWFA Cup for the only time and again with Swinny’s Army in the 90’s one particular coach trip to Morda in the Welsh Cup during Ken Swinnertons management reign has been firmly inscribed in Welfare history.

Our best finish in the Welsh Cup was reaching the 6th round in 1936/37 before losing at home to Crewe Alexandra of the English football league. We did however beat Hereford United in the 4th round.

Over the years there has been a number of clubs in the village, notably Llay RBL and Llay United who were both very successful in their era’s. Everyone now connected with Llay Welfare is extremely proud of our very long history and we feel; we are again sowing the seeds for a strong future within the club.

Recent development saw a new stand being built at the Ring which has had a huge contribution in bringing our facilities up to a very high standard for a club of our size. We will continue to build the club and look forward to much success in the future.

First Team
Welsh National League – Champions: 1962-63
NEWFA Challenge Cup Winners: 1976-77
Wrexham and District League – Runners-up: 1936-37
Welsh National League – Runners-up: 1947-48, 1970–71
Welsh National League – Division One Champions: 1986-87, 1990–91
Welsh National League – Division One-Cup Winners: 1958-59
Welsh National League – Division One Runners-up: 1996-97
Welsh National League – Division Two Champions: 2000-01
Welsh National League – Division Two Runners-up: 1996-97
Welsh National League – Division Two-Cup Winners: 1986-87, 1989–90, 2000–01, 2001–02
Welsh National League – Division 3A Runners-up: 1969-70
Welsh National League – Division Two-Cup Winners: 1996-97

Pre Season 1st Team 2019, Welsh National League - Premier Division, Welsh National League - Reserves Division
2018, 2019, 2020